Ice Ultra 2024 | Stage One Results

The Ice Ultra is well and truly underway, with hardy runners taking to the course at 07:30 local time yesterday (20th February).

Est. reading time

3 minutes

The Ice Ultra is well and truly underway, with hardy runners taking to the course at 07:30 local time yesterday (20th February). Read on for a short report and the results from Stage One.

Stage One began at the Stora Sjöfallet Mountain Lodge, joined the legendary Kunslegden trail and, 50km later finished at the Aktse Refuge Cabins.

Sore legs and extreme cold were just a few of the challenges faced by the competitors as they marched into the Arctic Circle. The stage started with a relatively easy 10km past CP1 and then ramped up in difficulty as they took their first tentative steps onto a frozen lake. Though completely safe, the groaning and cracking from the thickset ice is unsettling and the runners kept the pace up, climbing steadily onto a windswept plateau and then descending into the dense pine forest in which they found the evening’s refuge.

Tarryn Gordon-Bennett leads the Women at the end of day one, finishing the stage in an impressive 8 hours 23 minutes, more than 3 hours ahead of the next placed female, Emma Roper (11hrs 35min) who came across the line in a mixed pack of runners that had arrived together at the refuge camp. Morgane Riviére was third across the line with a finishing time of 12 hours flat.

Drama ensued in the Men’s race, as race leader James Izzard, who finished the stage in a rapid 6 hours and 50 minutes incurred a time penalty which changes the podium. Our rules state that runners are self-sufficient in the race and must complete it using the kit they started out with. James has made the tough choice to change an item of his kit and therefore incurred a penalty of 8hrs. This means that the second place runner, Alex O’Shea (7hrs 18min) will move up into first position during tomorrow’s stage. It’s all to play for though, as there was only an hour separating 2nd and 6th place, and with the brutal Mt Kabla stage looming ahead it really is anyone’s game.

A special shout out should go to Tian Watson, who battled extreme cold and fatigue to make the cut off by just 23 seconds! Grit and determination got him over the line as darkness descended on the course and he went on to finish Stage One in 15 hours and 15 minutes.

As in any race there are always a few who struggle with the combined brutality of the environment and distances involved. Gareth Roberts and Duncan Tebb have retired from the race and are in the safe hands of our medical welfare team.

Stage Two began this morning at 07:30 (06:30 UK Time) with runners heading out to tackle the exposed 700m ascent in similar conditions to yesterday. Reports from the field are indicating that it’s expected to be a baltic -26 on top of Mt Kabla.

Head to our Instagram to see our updates and hear from Race Director Kris King by clicking the link here.

You can live track the runners by clicking here.

NameGenderBIBStage 1 Finish TimeStage 1 TimePositionGender Position
James IzzardMale21.02:20:00 PM6:50:0011
Alex O’SheaMale29.02:48:00 PM7:18:0022
Juan Fernandez CatalinaMale15.03:28:00 PM7:58:0033
Jonathan HarmanMale20.03:40:00 PM8:10:0044
Bert GosseyMale18.03:42:00 PM8:12:0055
Andre ErasmusMale13.03:48:00 PM8:18:0066
George BathMale4.03:50:00 PM8:20:0077
Tarryn Gordon-BennettFemale17.03:53:00 PM8:23:0081
Freddie BennettMale5.03:59:00 PM8:29:0098
Jules BardwellMale2.04:20:00 PM8:50:00109
Daryl GreenMale19.04:24:00 PM8:54:001110
Nick Denoon-StevensMale11.04:30:00 PM9:00:001211
Jack DaveyMale10.05:30:00 PM10:00:001312
William KellyMale25.05:35:00 PM10:05:001413
Bobby TallonMale36.05:35:00 PM10:05:001514
Sherief ElabdMale12.05:43:00 PM10:13:001615
Peter SmithMale35.05:48:00 PM10:18:001716
Kyle EvansMale14.06:05:00 PM10:35:001817
Patrick GillenMale16.06:13:00 PM10:43:001918
Barry WhiteMale41.06:27:00 PM10:57:002019
Chris SmithMale34.07:00:00 PM11:30:002120
Robin KellyMale24.07:05:00 PM11:35:002221
Emma RoperFemale32.07:05:00 PM11:35:00232
Cordi van NiekerkMale38.07:05:00 PM11:35:002422
Rob WoodMale42.07:05:00 PM11:35:002523
Ross CollisonMale8.07:10:00 PM11:40:002624
Dominic LonghurstMale27.07:25:00 PM11:55:002725
Dan-Emilian CroitoruMale9.07:30:00 PM12:00:002826
Morgane RivièreFemale30.07:30:00 PM12:00:00293
Olivia KeatingFemale22.07:33:00 PM12:03:00304
Paul VenterMale39.07:33:00 PM12:03:003127
Sia KindbergFemale26.07:41:00 PM12:11:00325
Rosie BurnhamFemale6.07:50:00 PM12:20:00336
Jane KellyFemale23.07:50:00 PM12:20:00347
Nahed SarigFemale33.08:02:00 PM12:32:00358
Chelsea MatherFemale28.08:15:00 PM12:45:00369
Tian WatsonMale40.010:45:00 PM15:15:003728
Gareth RobertsMale31.0DNF#VALUE!3829
Duncan TebbMale37.0DNF#VALUE!3930

About the Author

Jenny Hall

More from

Global Race Series