Ice Ultra 2024 | Stage Two Results

Testing the limits of human endurance on the grueling Kabla stage. Read on for the round-up and results from Day Two.

Est. reading time

2 minutes

Testing the limits of human endurance the BTU runners took on the grueling Kabla stage. Make sure to read on for the round-up and the full results from Day Two of the Ice Ultra.

Stage Two began at 07:30 (06:30 UK Time) with runners heading out from the refuge cabins at Aktse and into the frozen landscape. The first challenge they faced is arguably the toughest of the entire race, Mt Kabla. A sentinel above the frozen forest, Kabla faces the runners with an exposed 700m ascent, all the while whipping wind and spindrift contribute to poor visibility and bitter cold.

Taking in the breathtaking scenery as they crossed the summit the runners marched on, descending nearly 1000m into the snowy pine forests, where deep drifts and soft snow made for slow going.

First to cross the line into the tourist lodge at Arrenjarka was stage winner Alex O’Shea in an unbelievably quick 6hrs 12min, a full hour ahead of second-placed George Bath (7hrs 12min). Alex ran well one day one, and after James Izzard’s 8 hour time penalty, now finds himself clear at the top of the overall standings.

7 runners finished the 42km stage in under eight hours, with the leader in the Female race, Tarryn Gordon-Bennet, extending her lead at the front of the pack. She battled her way across Kabla in 7hrs 48min, taking the extreme challenge in her stride. Following a few hours behind was second-placed Emma Roper (10hrs 50min) and third-placed Olivia Keating (12hrs 10min), who found herself at the head of a mixed pack all arriving within 20 minutes of one another.

The runners embarked on Day Three at 07:30 (06:30 UK Time), heading out from the relatively sheltered pine forests in which they stayed the night, and then on to a pilgrimage across the colossal frozen lakes that make up the bulk of the terrain. Who’ll be first to make it to the Island sanctuary of Laxholmen and take the victory in stage 3? You’ll have to come back tomorrow to find out.

Head to our Instagram to see our updates and hear from Race Director Kris King by clicking the link here.

You can live track the runners as they tackle the course by clicking here.

NameGenderBIBStage 2 Finish TimeStage 2 TimePositionGender Position
Alex O’SheaMale29.01:42:00 PM6:12:0011
George BathMale4.02:42:00 PM7:12:0022
Jonathan HarmanMale20.02:57:00 PM7:27:0033
Juan Fernandez CatalinaMale15.03:11:00 PM7:41:0044
Tarryn Gordon-BennettFemale17.03:18:00 PM7:48:0051
Andre ErasmusMale13.03:28:00 PM7:58:0065
Bert GosseyMale18.03:28:00 PM7:58:0076
Nick Denoon-StevensMale11.03:40:00 PM8:10:0087
Daryl GreenMale19.03:41:00 PM8:11:0098
Kyle EvansMale14.03:53:00 PM8:23:00109
James IzzardMale21.04:03:00 PM8:33:001110
Jules BardwellMale2.016:519:21:001211
Peter SmithMale35.05:21:00 PM9:51:001312
Jack DaveyMale10.05:40:00 PM10:10:001413
Freddie BennettMale5.05:51:00 PM10:21:001514
William KellyMale25.05:52:00 PM10:22:001615
Bobby TallonMale36.05:52:00 PM10:22:001716
Sherief ElabdMale12.06:05:00 PM10:35:001817
Emma RoperFemale32.06:20:00 PM10:50:00192
Patrick GillenMale16.06:44:00 PM11:14:002018
Barry WhiteMale41.06:49:00 PM11:19:002119
Chris SmithMale34.07:02:00 PM11:32:002220
Ross CollisonMale8.07:05:00 PM11:35:002321
Robin KellyMale24.07:32:00 PM12:02:002422
Cordi van NiekerkMale38.07:32:00 PM12:02:002523
Paul VenterMale39.07:32:00 PM12:02:002624
Olivia KeatingFemale22.07:40:00 PM12:10:00273
Rob WoodMale42.07:42:00 PM12:12:002825
Jane KellyFemale23.07:43:00 PM12:13:00294
Sia KindbergFemale26.07:57:00 PM12:27:00305
Dominic LonghurstMale27.08:03:00 PM12:33:003126
Dan-Emilian CroitoruMale9.08:14:00 PM12:44:003227
Morgane RivièreFemale30.08:38:00 PM13:08:00336
Tian WatsonMale40.09:04:00 PM13:34:003428
Rosie BurnhamFemale6.09:55:00 PM14:25:00357
Nahed SarigFemale33.010:19:00 PM14:49:00368
Chelsea MatherFemale28.010:42:00 PM15:12:00379
Gareth RobertsMale31.010:42:00 PM15:12:003829
Duncan TebbMale37.0DNS#VALUE!3930

About the Author

Jenny Hall

More from

Global Race Series